Final Blog Post

Posted: December 17, 2010 in Uncategorized

Info 303 has been one of, if not, the most fun class I’ve taken here at the University of Illinois. I heard that it was fun and interactive, from some friends, and that’s exactly what it was. I’m really glad that I took it. I learned a lot of valuable methods of writing that have already helped me in many ways.

Through the image text project I was able to practice my ideas I already had for a logo. I was able to dive further into my idea and learn more effective ways of incorporating images and text. I will continue to develop my logo, but this project really encouraged me and taught me a lot.

I loved the audio project. I had never really worked with Garage band prior to this class, and since my audio project I have been able to use it in many different ways. It is a useful tool to conveying ideas. I love expressing my ideas through audio. Much like reading, it causes the listener to creatively imagine what the audio is discussing. It allows so much more detail and creativity to be utilized as opposed to simply text.

I think the video documentary project was the most beneficial for me. I hadn’t really ever experimented with making videos before but it was something I had always wanted to do. Taking part in this project gave me so many ideas of ways I can express thoughts and ideas in unique and creative ways through video. Because of this project I’ve been asked by some people to make videos for them, it will also allow me to develop some ideas for music videos I want to create. I loved this project because it allowed me to explore way of writing that will improve my skills and give me a more versatile approach to writing.

The final project was really fun. I loved making the map. It allowed me to think of a space in a different way. It was funny because I made the map of the Millennium Falcon and literally a week later I saw a book in Walmart that showed the inner layouts of the Falcon. I thought I had a pretty creative idea, but apparently someone else thought of the same idea. Either way, I really enjoyed making something fun and interesting to me.

The interactive media project where I was paired up with Charles was great. We had a lot of fun with our topic, Comic Theory. I love comics, so this project was really interesting to me. I don’t read many books, but I really enjoyed reading “Understanding Comics” by McCloud for the project. It was cool to make a blog with poll questions on it. It was cool way of interacting with the visitors of the page. I learned so much just from making the blog.

Overall, this class kept me sane this semester. I had so much going on, but this class was fun and refreshing. It never was a pain to do this work. It was always something that was fun and interesting to me. I learned so much about blogging, and using different media to express ideas. I’m confidant that I now have the ability to use many different methods to create something unique. Honestly, a lot of classes I take here t the U of I seem useless and a waste of time, but with this class I actually know that I will be using what I learned in my career and in the future. In this technology driven society, the people who know how to use technology are the most valuable employees. I am so glad that I enrolled in this class because not only was it a pleasurable experience but I will be using what I learned for the rest of my life.

Leave a Reply

